Is this worth considering?

Classic359

Hey guys! This might get long so get comfortable. I'm currently deployed to Afghanistan as an Engineer in the Illinois Army National Guard (2nd deployment, 1st was in Iraq). Yesterday I was on the internet and a guy I do some business with asked me if I wanted to drive for him. 25% Line haul and 50% tarp fees was the initial offer (I didn't ask much more than that). I'm 27, have an uncle that has been an owner operator for 25+ years, have a little experience driving and hauling mostly heavy equipment (D-7's and bigger) while in the military and am pretty mechanically inclined. I've been helping with trucks as long as I was big enough to walk to the toolbox and bring wrenches back. The thing is I'm currently a Union Plumber, Pipefitter and Welder in southern Illinois and make 34.00 an hour with medical and a retirement. The work will be regional (Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, Kentucky and Michigan) an I can work as hard or as slow as I want. Would this be an option any of you would consider? I've always wanted to drive for a living and love nothing more than chaining down a big dozer to haul. I just don't want to make the wrong decision and put my current career at risk if the driving thing doesn't work out. Last thing, I'm going to be getting married next May and How would starting a family be while beginning a driving career?

Thanks for reading all this guys and any advise you could give me would be greatly appreciated. Thanks:usaflag: