What is it going to take to survive?

Zapco

first off :hide: Freight rates suck. Competition is fierce. As a broker, I am even having trouble weathering this storm. For you guys that are always pissed off about freight rates and "the broker taking 30-50%" , I am pissed at the trucks hauling it direct at this point. Brokers in my opinion arent killing the market, it's the trucks themselves. But honestly, I am quoting my customers a fair rate only to talk to trucks hauling it direct for 30% LESS. Talk about a role reversal. Sorry, needed to vent.

first off :hide: Freight rates suck. Competition is fierce. As a broker, I am even having trouble weathering this storm. For you guys that are always pissed off about freight rates and "the broker taking 30-50%" , I am pissed at the trucks hauling it direct at this point. Brokers in my opinion arent killing the market, it's the trucks themselves. But honestly, I am quoting my customers a fair rate only to talk to trucks hauling it direct for 30% LESS. Talk about a role reversal. Sorry, needed to vent.

I will say this as my own opinion, I own a small fleet that I use brokers when I have to (and only when I absolutely have to), only to get my trucks back to an already established customer base. I recently had a freight broker directly contact one of my customers and gave them a written quote to what that broker claimed he could efficently move this customers cargo.
His rate was 37.62% below my current contract with that customer.
There are getting to be just as many brokers as there are competitors to haul freight. What the broker (and I do refer to a few and not all), they have no clue the cost involved to move this freight nor do they care, because they can set in the comfort of their own home based office everyday and when their day is done go to sleep in their nice comfortable bed.