How much success would you say you have in collecting detention?

Viceroy

As a Dispatch Manager, I have been successful in getting detention for my drivers I would say about 60% of the time, that's half of the battle though in terms of getting it approved by the broker and getting a revised rate confirmation from them for it. The other half of the battle is invoicing them for it and actually getting paid on the difference.

I would love to hear other driver's experiences with this. I find out of all the brokers I deal with, that JB Hunt loads are one of the hardest to collect detention from and same with TQL.

I work only with brokers, I do not have any dedicated accounts, I am an owner op with my own authority. I have yet to receive detention from any load that was supposed to pay it, Mercer, CHRobinson, TQL there a big joke. I have developed a new method of detention. After 2 hours I find a NEW LOAD. I gave promises of detention pay the one finger salute. Sorry this is probably not what you want to hear but this is a day in the life of 95% of the truckers out there.

Thats if their freight is not on my trailer, once it is on my trailer thats a different story. I have heard a story once about an owner op would charge for detention and if he wasn't paid he would put a lien on the company. Im not to sure how that works.

I have no issues getting detention compensation. Have gotten up to 11 hrs detention before. Several times 5-6 hrs. It all depends on who your customers are. I usually haul for customers that things are agreed to up front. So, suffice to say, grocery warehouses and big box store stuff usually doesn't ride in my trailer.