Getting a job aftre an accident

fleckofgod

I have been driving on and off for about 2 years (a couple of layoffs broke consistency).

After only a week on the job I got into an accident which caused my termination. I had worked for this company before (small bulk tank company), but they laid me off back in 2008. When a position had opened up, they gladly rehired me. I was thrilled to be back, but my first week back was a rough one (water hose busted in TX, pump hose got clogged, pump engine burnt out, and someone hit me in a rest stop). I figured the following week would go better. Boy was I wrong!!! After leaving the yard with a load, I was on a narrow mountain road when I reached over to get something. My truck hit a bump, which caused just enough momentum to jerk my truck right into a sign and guard rail. I regained control of the truck (I could have easily had a roll over accident), but it was too late, as the damage had been done. The State Trooper came and wrote up the ticket I have never had anything like the ticket as a "verbal warning", but it was still a ticket. On the ticket was "Misc. Traffic Law Violation - Due Care". I have never been in an accident like this - truck or four wheeler. Now feel like my career is over. How can I redeem myself and would anyone dare hire me at this point? :( I should also note that this company liked me enough not to put this on my DAC, but I understood that they couldn't keep me.

Thanks,
Ben

Hi, Ben and welcome aboard

To better understand your situation, what is listed on your motor vehicle report (MVR). Any other accidents or infractions in the past 10 years?