2019 579 Transmission Fault

Atvtrailrider

My 2019 579 with PACCAR drivetrain has been intermittently going into transmission fault mode when moving it around to docks. This is new since the last service? Seems to have to do with shifting before it completely stops? Anybody else have this issue?

My 2019 579 with PACCAR drivetrain has been intermittently going into transmission fault mode when moving it around to docks. This is new since the last service? Seems to have to do with shifting before it completely stops? Anybody else have this issue?
I can’t say I do and I have zero experience with PACCAR drive train. My Eaton auto in my 2018 will geek out usually when I start it and make it fault and not go into gear. Shit it off restart and it’s fine. I also have a Cummins engine so. Sorry wish I could be more help.

Have you found out what was causing it? I have a 2020 and itll go into trans fault randomly and peterbilt cant find out why.

Talking with a couple guys at the TMC shop they are replacing the trans harness and updating software and that seems to cure it.

If you have to have an autobox, why don't these companies simply go with the tried and true Allisons? They are bulletproof, light, can be used up to 2100 ft lbs of torque and can be had in a variety of ratios and speeds.

I was recently employed by a company that had both Eatons and Allisons. The Eatons were always OOS due to faults in the transmissions and software. The Allisons went merrily on with no issues. The only problem those trucks encountered were the junk Paccar engines. Like the Volvo engines they could get the EGR's to last over a few months.

If you have to have an autobox, why don't these companies simply go with the tried and true Allisons? They are bulletproof, light, can be used up to 2100 ft lbs of torque and can be had in a variety of ratios and speeds.