What are the typical rates for carriers?

ladyloadmover

I'm a newbie, about to start as a freight broker agent, and I've read a lot about how drivers don't think they get paid enough. Is there a going rate for certain kinds of trucks or merchandise? Is there any kind of reference available? Are there any minimums, or do carriers just decide for themselves how much they're willing to accept?

Good topic for discussion.

When I was dispatching I dealt with pretty good brokers, and rates for a given thing were pretty much standard. Sometimes I had to try to squeeze more money out of them, and that got sticky. I would hear things like

"Awww man, that's all I got in this load" or "That's the best I can do."

...when the previous week the very same very busy very forgetful broker got me more money without even blinking.

As a broker, just remember that dependable, repeat carriers can make a HUGE difference in your income as they will seek you and your loads out time and again.

Keep us posted. I've been interested in brokering for some time.

*Anyone using this thread to bitch about how much they hate brokers will be beaten. *

Well. if you don't offer enough money for the load, nobody will haul it and your customers will lose your phone number, If you pay to much, then you won't make any money, I have dealt with a lot of brokers over the years some good, most though are about on the same level as injury lawyers and used car salesman. Brokers are a necessary evil and I think maybe more so in the future as these big companies start cutting more of their sales staff and rely on outside agents