Question about VED 12 Engine, and a ISX Cummins

bfry381

I have a question on a 2004, and a 2006 Volvo. The 2004 Volvo they want 19,500 for it. It's a 10 speed and has 652,000 miles on it with a ISX Cummins. The other one is closer to my house it's a 2006 volvo model 630 with a VED 12 engine in it. It has 724,000 miles on it. So the one truck is 2 years older with a ISX cummins and has less miles, but the 2006 is 2 years newer, but has more miles and has the VED engine in it. I have only drove Detroits, and Cats. I have no experience with VED engines, and not to much with cummins. I have heard nightmares about VED Engines and I have heard they are great. My buddy has a model 630 Volvo with 850 some thousand miles and he has only had to replace the turbo and gets around 7-7.5 mpg hauling. My other friend is a mechanic and all he works on is ISX cummins engine and he told me they have trouble with the egr valves etc... So my question is which truck should I get? They want 18,500 for the 06 which is a grand cheaper than the 2004, but it has the VED 12 in it. I know everyone will probably go with the ISX Cummins, but I just wanted to get a outlook on everything before I purchased one of these trucks. Both are 10 speeds and have been fleet maintained. Thank you so much for your time!

My company has bought a few Volvo-powered Volvos lately. :bonk: I thought they learned their lesson in 2005 when they bought a bunch of trucks with the Volvo engines in them. They were gutless piles of crap, got 5.5 mpg and the jakes didn't do a damn thing except make some noise.

The Cummins ISX Volvos from that era did have EGR issues, as well as electrical issues. But they were far superior to the Volvo engines. They had more power, got better fuel economy, and the jakes held better on a grade.

I'd spend the extra grand & get the ISX.