Oakley vs. Indian River

TampaMac

I am looking at going back OTR after being local for 4 years (5 years driving experience total). I've been hauling fuel for the last 2 years and enjoy pulling a tank. Live in Tampa and considering Oakley & IRT. Any advice comrades?

I am looking at going back OTR after being local for 4 years (5 years driving experience total). I've been hauling fuel for the last 2 years and enjoy pulling a tank. Live in Tampa and considering Oakley & IRT. Any advice comrades?
I think @Mike used to drive for Oakley.
Stand by one.

I remember seeing a decent-looking Indian River rig at what looked like a delivery point not far from the Petro east of Spokane. Just checked Glassdoor. It looks like IR is looking for skinners in the Spokane area. But lots of lash-ups are looking for skinners, so I don't hold that against IR or any lash-up. I'm guessing that if IR and other lash-ups paid more they wouldn't be looking for skinners. Looks like IR was looking for team drivers. Been there done that. Might work with a wife or GF (or BF in today's world -- sorry I started trucking in 1964 or 65). I used to like to haul edibles. I assume that's IR's basic haul. Sugar, chocolate, booze, and vegetable oil pick up and delivery points were almost always interesting. It seems like so many drivers get shorted on pickup and delivery times. We used to get paid for pickups or deliveries when we went into the shipper or consignee's facility to the time we got out of it. Here's hoping that IR pays that way.

In my brief time in tankers we made fun of the food grade guys.

It’s like the dry vans and flip flops of the tanker world.

I’d heard the money isn’t very good in food grade tankering.

Of course I wasn’t much on chemicals. You couldn’t pay me a bajillion dollars to do another load of methylethylbadshit or put on that damn monkey suit in 100 degrees again...

"I’d heard the money isn’t very good in food grade tankering."