Newbie here looking for help for friend who wants to get his own truck and work for himself

southernpeach

Hi Everyone,

I am looking to get some honest info on what the best way to get started as an owner operator business for my friend. He has been working for a delivery company and unloads cases all day as well as drives..he does well but hes at a point where its too taxing on his body and is looking to possibly buy his own truck and start working for himself. I have went out and talked to a used truck place and tried to get some info, and he suggested Landstar but Landstar as Ive seen on pages seems to have negative reviews. What he is most concerned about is not doing long distance loads to start, perhaps local or New England only, starting out small. He has had his CDL for at least 8 years I believe and is reliable and a good driver. If anyone can help me out Id appreciate any advice so I can help him get the info he needs to have more flexibility and less packing and loading and unloading.

Thanks guys.

Hi Everyone,

I am looking to get some honest info on what the best way to get started as an owner operator business for my friend. He has been working for a delivery company and unloads cases all day as well as drives..he does well but hes at a point where its too taxing on his body and is looking to possibly buy his own truck and start working for himself. I have went out and talked to a used truck place and tried to get some info, and he suggested Landstar but Landstar as Ive seen on pages seems to have negative reviews. What he is most concerned about is not doing long distance loads to start, perhaps local or New England only, starting out small. He has had his CDL for at least 8 years I believe and is reliable and a good driver. If anyone can help me out Id appreciate any advice so I can help him get the info he needs to have more flexibility and less packing and loading and unloading.

Thanks guys.