Moving from UK to US, and have some questions about driver's permit

Andrew Wales

So i used to live in the UK for 5 years, and i worked as a trucker. My main responsibilities were to deliver the goods from the producer in Scotland, through England to the Northern Ireland. Now, i want to move to the United States to work as a trucker in the state of Alabama, so do i need to get a driver's license in the US or i can use my european driver's license as i done throughout the European Union?

State of Alabama Law Enforcement Agency

CDL or CDL Learner License Applicants
  • Current driver license.
  • Social Security card.*
  • If transferring from out of state, applicant must present one document from the “primary” list (in addition to the Social Security number document).
  • Current Department of Transportation long medical form (unless medically exempt).
  • $25 testing fee (no checks).
  • Transportation Security Administration background check if transferring or obtaining a hazardous materials endorsement.
  • If not a U.S. citizen, applicant must legally be in permanent status in the United
    States and domiciled in Alabama.
  • Skills test if upgrading a license or first-time applicant (test by appointment only; $20 skills test fee).
  • Proof of insurance.
  • $66.25 to purchase class “A” license.
  • $56.25 to purchase class “B” license.
  • $36.25 to purchase class “C” license.
  • $36.25 to purchase commercial learner license.

Additional Secondary Documents for Non-U.S. Citizens
  • Employment authorization document with valid Social Security card.
  • Valid visa (with supporting documents) authorizing presence in the United States for a period exceeding 160 days.
  • Valid I-94 arrival/departure record issued by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security.
  • Original I-797 (notice of action) issued by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, showing approval of change of status or extension of stay.