How To Start A Business?

Scorp

Supa Truka
I've been a company driver for my entire career and I've made the decision to purchase a truck and lease it on to my current company. I've done all the research and have the majority of the process figured out. I do have a few questions though.

1. When I go to ABC Trucks (just an example) and buy a truck, do I register it in my name and let the company plate it? Or how exactly do I get my name on the title but their baseplates?

2. Do I need a "business license"? I live in TX is that helps any...

3. Do I have to get incorporated or become an llc or any of those right away? Any benefit to doing it right away or later on?

4. I read somewhere about registering a trade name. If I want to call myself "ABC Transportation"(example again) is that ok to just do or do I have to file something with some agency?

5. What do I need to do with regards to the IRS? I don't know anything about being self employed on the tax end, other than the higher taxes I've heard about.

6. Do I need to get a federal tax id number?

7. How much paperwork/time/money am I looking at in the forming on my own business.

8. Is the business name ect even necessary or can I just buy a truck and lease it on and pay self employment taxes?

9. Seeing what questions I have, is their anything glaringly obvious that I'm overlooking?

I realize some of those might be stupid or whatever else, but I gotta ask cause I don't know!

scorp, you have probably already thought of this, but i would bet flatbedpete could answer alot of your questions....good luck and i hope ya make it work.

scorp, you have probably already thought of this, but i would bet flatbedpete could answer alot of your questions....good luck and i hope ya make it work.
Thanks, and ya I thought about him and the other o/o's here. That's why I just put it out in the open forums to (maybe) get a mix of responses and figure out what's right for me.