Good or Bad Opportunity???

Hello everyone! I'm here today looking for some advice. I am a truck driver and enjoy very much what I do. Today I was offered the position of truck dispatcher for the company I drive for. The company wants me to start Monday if I accepted the position. I know that some dispatchers can make a pretty good living for them self and I do have a background in retail management. So besides the obvious pro which is being home every night with my family, I would like to know some pros and cons. I'm not sure if I'm ready to give up driving yet but any input, advice and feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Hello everyone! I'm here today looking for some advice. I am a truck driver and enjoy very much what I do. Today I was offered the position of truck dispatcher for the company I drive for. The company wants me to start Monday if I accepted the position. I know that some dispatchers can make a pretty good living for them self and I do have a background in retail management. So besides the obvious pro which is being home every night with my family, I would like to know some pros and cons. I'm not sure if I'm ready to give up driving yet but any input, advice and feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
many dispatchers are on call, when they are at home, or even when they are out at a fine restaurant. i never did any dispatching myself, i know i'd like to hang up the keys and try it someday.

but be prepared to hear every story from truckers that maybe YOU yourself put YOUR dispatchers thru......

pay..?? i dunno...can;t say, but it has to be good at "some" company's and suck at others. for all your time you have to put in. i think however, that would be a salaried job, so if you are working up to 70 hours now, and you feel tht you ain't getting paid enough, just imagine if you work OVER 100 hours and no extra pay....