New To Trucking Yet another "what company should I join?" thread

moonbeast32

Ok, so I thought I was going to work for Werner Enterprises. However, Life, the universe, and everything disagreed. So much has happened in these last few weeks, that I've had to keep cancelling and rescheduling my employment date. During that time, I've began to think deeply about my evaluation of them as a company, and how much I trust their recruiters.

So I'm starting to reconsider working for them. Now I understand that as a new driver, I should just bite the bullet and get training before worrying about the best place to work. Still, my obsessive personality compels me to aim for the absolutely perfect training company (if such a thing exists).

So my conditions are as follows:

I have a class A license, no restrictions, T, and X endorsements.

I live in the Salt Lake City area of Utah

I have no experience outside of the technical school I got my CDL at.

Single, no children.

Additionally, I have an uncanny fixation with the pacific northwest, so if any company has Canadian or inland Alaska accounts,that ends up being a major selling point to me from any prospective employer.

You see, I've been looking up a lot of forums/comments/reviews/blogs, and the most frustrating thing about job searching in this industry is that there never seems to be a consensus on any one thing. There seems to be an equal amount of people who hated working at any given company as there are who loved it. Does it all come down to preference?

Well then, here's my preferences:

a salary anywhere near 50 k per year,

respected and reputable training program

has accounts in Canada

Obeys and enforces laws, does not gamble with driver health and safety.