what are the procs/cons of percentage pay? is it better/worse then mileage pay?

ksand773

I am new to trucking and looking into different options of pay rates. I was offered a percentage job, I think its 35%, and I am a company driver. is that good or bad? am i better off driving for mileage? please let me knmow the pro/con of percetage loads versus mileage loads

35% is a pretty good rate of pay for a percentage driver. The problem now is that rates in basically the entire industry are perilously low.

What kind of freight are you going to be hauling? If there's going to be huge deadheads, then you might want to think about getting paid for all the miles you turn.

If one load is going to be relatively close to the next most of the time, then it shouldn't matter much.

Being on percentage will allow you to figure what the truck is making, and give you more knowledge about how the business end of things works should you decide to stay in trucking, and become an owner operator.

Either way, you have to realize that the guy hiring you isn't going to let one group of guys get too far out ahead of another group in terms of money. It's going to be ballpark either way.

With mileage pay you should know with few issues how much money you are making.

With percentage you are being asked to believe the person telling you what the rate is.

Unless you know for a fact what a load pays (almost impossible to know) your employer will have an unfair advantage.

Is 35% off the gross or net? Gets confusing.

I believe percentage and per diem are both employer scams.

That depends really. If youre driving for some two bit outfit, then yeah, I'd be real scared about being on percentage. But if it's a larger, stand up company, then it shouldn't be a problem. I understand TMC pays on percentage, and say what you want about them, but if they made a habit of ripping people off they wouldn't be as big as they are, not last as long as they have.