Truck Driving Industry is it the worst for retention in the U.S. ?

HANSEG4

I am currently unemployed and I have been researching the industry since the summer of 2009 ! and i have never seen so many complaints about this industry, one after another. I am starting to rethink my consideration in becoming a truck driver, can anyone in this forum explain to me why i would want to be a driver, besides the obvious reason of just having a job ? Also i live in Texas and i only found two schools that are certified by the pdti, and who or what is the pdti ? are they the j.d. power and associates of the truck driving school industry ? Any comments would be helpful.

If you need us to explain to you why to become a truck driver then do yourself a favor and don't even consider it anymore! You won't make it! This job takes a lot from a person and if you don't want it you'll never make it!

Ok that's a fair statement, i guess i am concerned with all the bad stuff i have read on the internet and some of the conversations i had with drivers that just got into this industry recently

Opinions are like...well you know that old saying!

Everyone has their opinion. All the information is available before hand by just reading or talking to drivers. Most that don't make it are the ones who went in with a chip on the shoulder to begin with. They thought they were going to make the industry work for them their way or something like that. They didn't take the time to learn and go along with the way things work!

I will agree that there are serious problems with the truck driving industry, however I enjoy driving a truck, and if you find the right set of circumstances that make you happy, it is a wonderful and fulfilling industry.