Route Driver to OTR Driver Questions

DWE9430

I've been a route driver for more than 20 years, and have recently started a new job in which the long hours and heavy lifting are much harder than when I was 20-something (LOL). This job pays about $47k/year plus benefits. Have thought for years I'd really enjoy OTR driving, as I do like the autonomy and love being on the road.

But based on what I've read here, is there any realistic way to match the money (or come close)?

Are there any others out there who made the switch from local route work to OTR?

If yes, can you tell me the pros/cons you've experienced?

Thanks in advance for any help you offer

This is really a loaded question, We use to run our truck intra, not a route but some what close. Made money and was home alot more.That's done..lol
I really don't think you will match what your doing, In these times a gnt. is the best.
Read through some of the forums, Trucks just are not doing it.

I've been a route driver for more than 20 years, and have recently started a new job in which the long hours and heavy lifting are much harder than when I was 20-something (LOL). This job pays about $47k/year plus benefits. Have thought for years I'd really enjoy OTR driving, as I do like the autonomy and love being on the road.

But based on what I've read here, is there any realistic way to match the money (or come close)?

Are there any others out there who made the switch from local route work to OTR?

If yes, can you tell me the pros/cons you've experienced?

Thanks in advance for any help you offer

I can only give my opinion DWE, that is if you are grossing 47K a year with good benefits, right now would not be a good time to make the leap. This is just my opinion.

If it was me, I would try to hold out where you are currently, atleats for another year or 2, to see what the industry will intel for long haul