Regarding New Short-haul/OTR Trucking Company

TruckerBiz

Hi there,

I currently work as a dispatcher at an Idaho based OTR trucking company and have become interested in starting my own trucking business. I am looking for any advice from the community - specifically from Owner Operators, truck drivers, or business owners regarding how a company functions in the opening few months of operation.

I've done my research to a point, I've got no issues getting the correct paperwork filed away (this is easily searchable via the internet) or even developing my own business plan or developing my own market research. My main questions are this:

Why would a truck driver, either employed or owner operator, want to work at a startup trucking business?

How does a trucking business, once fully set up, get loads when many brokerages require several months experience before signing up? Do most startups typically get on the horn contacting customers directly?

Can you get contracts when your short term goal is to become profitable running less than 6 trucks?

How does one get involved with negotiating contracts with customers? Are there specific websites/forums for this, or is this something that is more done by cold calling? What has worked for you in getting your best/most important contracts?

Would you hire on to work for a startup company when the owners don't have CDLs? What would you look for regarding an employment package that would help you overlook this?

What do you look for in a "boss" as in the owner of your company, especially if its a small company?

Is it important to focus on intrastate hauling, or would one find more success focussing one several states or regional E.G. the Pacific NW? Is there more success with opening up to larger portions of the US?