Pros and Cons of Dash Cams

Sinister

pari animositate
Oh boy.
Here we go again.

Why exactly do you think a dash cam is a good idea?

If I ever got one it would be a Go-Pro Hero 3 or ... probably 4 by then.

I doubt I'd use it in the truck though. I'm thinking more along the lines of:

Their word, my word and video.

I win.

Provided you yourself are absolutely squeaky clean and not at fault in ANY way. And again, what happens in the event of a fatality - even one thats not your fault? They're still going to subpoena everything and they will find something, and that may just be enough.

There are a whole new batch of ambulance chasing scumbag lawyers who specialize in truck wrecks. They are not your friend.

I don't think you'll win in a really bad situation. There's probably ten videos on youtube right now where I can find fault in exactly the same type of thinking and maybe even reverse the blame and I'm NOT a lawyer.

If these things were that great an idea, wouldn't the megafleets have adopted them by now?

We've bitched our entire lives - I have anyway, I understand you're fairly new to the industry - about keeping government out of our cabs, and yet here you're inviting it in. Even beyond your elogs.

As polite as I can possibly say it - you're part of the problem. You're buying into The Party. You are 1984.

Here's some more food for thought - are you fully incorporated, or an LLC? Because a good ambulance chaser can rip through an LLC like a sawtooth shark in a school of herring.

Last edited:
Reactions: Tim
In the event of a fatality or serious injury in which you're not at fault, the only way to protect yourself would be to copy just the relevant clip to another drive & then completely destroy the memory card from the camera that has your previous 8 hours or whatever in it.