I think I need short term disability leave for mental health

em1984

Hi everyone, basically I'm a local truck driver and I work nights. Sometimes I work only 8 hours and other times I work the whole 14 almost. I have always had problems sleeping but lately they are out of control. I have had to call out several times due to being too tired to safely deliver a load. Recently I started seeing a psychiatrist. I have been diagnosed with sleep shift disorder, insomnia, OCD, anxiety and depression. Due to recent events in my life all of those problems and sleeping problems have gotten much worse. I have been with this company for 2 years and it's a major company. I have always been a good employee until the past few months. I want to be honest with them but fear I will lose my job. I have been searching for a job during daytime hours but none of them pay anything close to what I make now. I have been trucking for 3 years now and think maybe I should just get out of it. Ever since I started my health in general has just gotten worse and worse. I'm only 30 and have all these problems. Will I get fired if I admit mental health problems or take a short term disability leave to get treated? If I even qualify for a short term disability leave I'm not sure if I would or not.

Rigjockey

I am don't know.
Supporter
Don't say anything about this to your company. Go see your Doctor, If your Doctor thinks you need time off they will issue you a note. There is nothing your company can do about it but give you the time off. The company is not allowed to ask what is wrong with you. Just tell you company you want to keep it private.

Duck

Quack
Supporter
Yep. What rigjockey said.

They hear "insomnia" and they think "OMG OMG OMG HE'S GONNA FALL ASLEEP AT THE WHEEL & TAKE OUT A SCHOOL BUS FULL OF KIDS" and they'll find any excuse to fire you, like you forgot to write the trailer number on a paper log from 3 months ago.