I AM a trucker, but almost feel like an interloper...

wogelsby

Actually seeing the United States is nice.
Gotta remind myself I'm a Trucker cause it's like 30 yrs - seems more like a dream. Pounded the road for independent owners east of the Mississippi for three years in the late 70's, Refer, dry box and flat bed. Outta Ashtabula, Ohio, usually headed out Sunday evenings, chasing loads till Saturday morning, around 2000 miles a week. No job since has set with me like that. At 67, still hanker to back under another load and head out. Love the power and dynamics of the equipment and the world of transportation. Glad to be here now, from the seat of an RV - OMG... the dreaded ENEMY! But I'm not. Total respect and admiration for all ya'll out there pounding the highways today.

Just read through some of the Shippers and Receivers stuff. Ah, how I remember. From a distance all seems romantic... forgetting the heart-attack anger and bile interacting with loading and un-loading... and dispatchers.

Welcome and thanks. I've been at this for way too long to the point that my body is trying hard to override whatever is in my mind that keeps me going "out there".:D

I used to fantacize about the motorcoach thing but of late it has morphed into a 1200hp big KW with a streeeeetched bunk painted metalflake red and with propane injectors at the tip of the exhaust so's I kin blow 6ft of flame as I go blasting by all the 64mph trucks at night. YEEEHAWWWW!!!!:biglaugh:

Reactions: Tim
Welcome and thanks. I've been at this for way too long to the point that my body is trying hard to override whatever is in my mind that keeps me going "out there".:D

I used to fantacize about the motorcoach thing but of late it has morphed into a 1200hp big KW with a streeeeetched bunk painted metalflake red and with propane injectors at the tip of the exhaust so's I kin blow 6ft of flame as I go blasting by all the 64mph trucks at night. YEEEHAWWWW!!!!:biglaugh: