New To Trucking How old is too old

R Perry

Haven't posted on here for some time. I got in a few days ago and a acquaintance came by and asked me how old is too old to get back into trucking, I told him I got back in at 65 but previously had many years of OTR experience. Not sure what is experience really is. He is 72 years old, but seems solid as a rock. Problem is he let his CDL go so I figure he would be like starting over. What do you all think?

I started driving OTR in 1972 and got off the road around 1990. Took on another career and retired at 62. Within a couple of years I was bored to death, didn't need the money, but needed something to do.
I'm now a driver trainer running a dedicated between California and Boston sometimes DC and I'm loving it. Helping young hands learn is tremendously gratifyingly to me. I only do drop and hook loads anymore and I am too old to hump freight.
So yes, some of us do it because we love it, and I do. Being a OTR driver is a lifestyle not just a job to me.

Haven't posted on here for some time. I got in a few days ago and a acquaintance came by and asked me how old is too old to get back into trucking, I told him I got back in at 65 but previously had many years of OTR experience. Not sure what is experience really is. He is 72 years old, but seems solid as a rock. Problem is he let his CDL go so I figure he would be like starting over. What do you all think?
He's good to go if he can pass the DOT physical and drug test.
Trucking doesn't discriminate based on age.

I think it’s a shame someone that old has to go back on the road.

I’d find a Walter job
We got afew "geezers" at my company..

Gosh the one gotta be 75 maybe almost 80 ..

I asked him what are you still doing out here..

Told me he did go home about 3 years and got bored sitting around watching TV allday ...

They hired him back about 5 years ago and he runs it just like anybody else