How does a truck manufacturer determine the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating for a Truck?

MikeRMurphy

By way of introduction, I am a research engineer at the University of Texas - Center for Transportation Research. I am currently working on a study regarding use of Specialized Hauling Vehicles which includes either newly constructed or older vocational trucks which one or more lift axles. A newly constructed truck has the GVWR identified on a plate or sticker mounted to the door panel or perhaps under the dash. What considerations are evaluated when setting the GVWR for a dump truck? I would expect the GVWR for a SU 5 dump with two lift axles would be larger than the GVWR for a 3-axle dump. I would expect that safety considerations such as braking capacity and structural capacities of the axles are part of this determination.

The reason I am curious about this is that based on field data collection there are many older trucks that have been retrofitted with one or more lift axles. However, I am not sure how the increased GVWR would be determined after the lift axles are added. The Texas Deparment of Motor Vehicles states in their Vehicle Registration Manual that a truck cannot be registered to haul more Gross Vehicle Weight than the GVWR shown on the data plate. Thus, when a truck is modified, how is the GVWR recalculated? Who would place the new GVWR plate / sticker on the truck?

Thanks very much for your help.

Mike Murphy

You can get a permit in Texas for overweight with extra axles on a county-by-county basis.

Rodger -