Flatbed Trucking

Maia

I was asked today if I would like to drive flatbeds for Swift. It only pays $.01 more per mile... but I know that can add up. Running an average of 2500 miles per week that's only $25 extra per week. It doesn't seem like its worth all the extra work... but I could be wrong.

Also I am a brand new driver, I haven't even passed my CDL test yet. Seems kind of irresponsible to ask me to haul giant coils right after mentorship.

Any thoughts?

I would not consider it for a penny a mile. maybe a dime a mile.

I started on flats in 1990. I had my fill after the first full winter and North Dakota/ Minnesota winters.

After about a year of OTR I leased to an outfit who ran both van & flat loads.
A guy with similar exp was blown off a 13' load of sheet insulation while tarping and nearly died. I never had any interest in flat-bedding after that.

I've known 6 or 8 people over the years who were out with injuries for an extended time or disabled completely from injuries related to tarping or securing high loads.

I'd recommend getting comfortable with driving before you leap into flats.

I started out in flats hauling coils, pipe, PVC pipe, bar stock and lumber. Skateboards are not like box trailers but at the same time, they have their own qwerks. Sometimes, it's just easier to start right out with those and learn them out of the chute than getting into bad habits.

Folks have yelled at me on the CB for taking a clover leaf too slow., "Sorry, you can take it too slow all you want. You can only take it too fast once." They never say another word.

Same with hauling coils and other stuff on flats.

In this game, it's ALL about respect. Respect the load, respect the road, respect the weather and respect other idiots on the road.

Do that, and you'll go home every night.

Last edited: