Do OTR company drivers really incur a higher living cost than those....

Sam McCloud

occupations that are stationary and local where by the employee commutes to/from home everyday?

Let's say I am an accountant for a local bank in Fort Wayne, IN and I gross $65,000 a year. I only have to commute 5 miles per day 5 days per week in my economical car that's paid off. I have a 1-br apartment I pay $500/mo. in Indiana and the landlord pays for all the utilities. I'm single with no dependents other than myself. I have no pets or house plants. I cook my own meals at home and shower at home every morning. I can buy all my groceries at local Walmarts and Kroegers. I use the local laundromat to do my wash and I change into clean clothes at least once everyday. I belong to a local gym and pay $30/mo. as a member.

Now, hypothetically, I take a job with a mega-carrier as an OTR driver while still maintaining my apartment in Fort Wayne for at least the first year. I might see an average of five home days per month. On the road I will have to rely on the services of truck stops for most of my daily living needs. Let's say I make $65,000 gross the first year for "Tom Jones Trucking, LLC" whose home terminal is let's say 200 miles of Fort Wayne. I'm using the same income amounts for easy comparison. I know $65K gross year may sound like wishful thinking for a rookie driver but I use this amount to make comparisons easier. I wanted to become a driver because paperwork and numbers-crunching all day long was boring as hell. The roar of diesel engines and the grind of gears sparked my fancy.