Diesel Particulate Filters (DPFs) (and a new model that is way better)

DieselResearch

Hey everyone,

my name is Sean and I'm a masters student researching a new type of Diesel Particulate Filter (DPF) and I was just trying to get some feedback from you guys on how this part of your truck affects you.

How do DPFs affect you right now? Are they a hassle, or do you hardly think about them? Do you have to have them regenerated often?

If I told you I was working on a new DPF that didn't have to be regenerated, required no maintenance, and could increase fuel efficiency by 50%, would you be interested?

Any general thoughts on DPFs or what my product could do for you would be awesome, thanks!

-Sean

Mike

Staff member
They are an absolute waste in productivity and have very little, of any, benefit to the environment.

They are damaging to trucks, negating any perceived environmental benefit.

Only way you can improve them is to eliminate them.

DieselResearch

They are an absolute waste in productivity and have very little, of any, benefit to the environment.

They are damaging to trucks, negating any perceived environmental benefit.

Only way you can improve them is to eliminate them.
Thanks for the response Mike. How do they damage trucks?

mndriver

curmudgeon extraordinare
Supporter
As effective at reducing actual emissions from the engine as those wonderful tailpipe vents are.

Mike

Staff member
As effective at reducing actual emissions from the engine as those wonderful tailpipe vents are.
yeah, check out all the youtube videos of people cleaning out those filters. All the crap coming out of the filter goes right down into our water system.....

DieselResearch

Thanks for the responses everyone! I need to clarify that this DPF doesn't increase MPG by 50%, it reduces the MPG loss from a DPF by 50%. So if your current DPF reduces MPG by 3mpg ours reduces by only 1.5mpg

krelithous

Supporter