Cummins Experts

Wildhog

1995 N14 Celect Black Motor

Tag says:

370 HP @ 1600 RPM
1400 Torque @ 1200 RPM

I pulled a load this morning and my total weight was 75000lbs and the truck was a dog. Read: Dragon Fly
The truck has a 4.33 Gear(I have 3.70's to put in it) and it's in really good shape with no blowby or oil leaks (knock wood).
The Pyro never went above 650 degree's and for the most part I drove 55 and 60mph. I'm a 65mph max kind of guy anyway and most of the driving I do will be on two lane or 4 lane non interstate type roads. I cannot stand the low gears as the truck seems to be wound up tight to me. It averaged 5.8 miles to the gallon on the 300 mile trip. Half loaded and half unloaded.

What HP can I turn this truck up to. Who can do it? I own the truck.

Looking at a Cummins torque Chart the motor matches a n14 12 cec and n14 12 ced. I do not know what that means.

I'm not an expert, but with those power numbers you can't expect it to pull very well.

Ask around at the local Cummins shop if they know someone in your area that can set you up with a bigger turbo and injectors, and can tune the ecm for you. That should go a long ways towards giving you the power you need to roll along.

I worked at a cummins shop about 12 years ago and I learned quite a bit about the engines. Unfortunately though, it was that I learned I had no interest in being a mechanic. I was just the janitor!!! I'm definitely not fond of their injectors because the mechanics thought it was a great time to take the plastic covers off the new injectors and somehow attach them to an air hose, light them on fire and shoot them at me.:2guns:

Get me the engine s/n# and I will run it past my guy, or you can try calling Bruce at Pittsburgh Power: (724) 360-4080

This is the only number I have right now. 1fuybcyb1sl621584