Can I get my CDL class B without going to school? - Hear me out first before replying!!

kjt1991

Hi, my name is Kevin Thompson... the long story short is I have 2 years of truck driving experience working for HD Supply driving a 26 foot truck, but just under the weight, so I did not need to get my CDL. I got trained and learned most things about driving a simple 26 foot straight truck and the rules and regulations and all that. I also have experience working for UPS... I was wondering if it would be possible (just want opinions and thoughts) to pass a written exam and then take a drivers test...

I want to get a class B driving job that does not require physical labor (something with mainly just driving, and using a forklift or a machine that someone else used to unload at a delivery destination. I ONLY say that because I got toxic mold poisoning and have been dealing with fatigue and muscle weakness, I am OK to drive, just I am not as strong as I should be and extreme physical labor wears me down)

Thoughts and opinions? I would consider going to a school, I just don't know if I want to spend the money

Yeah, you can get your CDL class B or any other class without going to school. All you need is access to a class B truck to take your test.

Yep. Find a place as close as possible to you in your State that will rent you a truck for the test.

Some states allow third party testing.
There's a guy near me in Missouri who will test you in his automatic Ford Louisville daycab pulling a 28 foot flatbed.
$300 last i heard.

Might as well just get a class A while you're at it.

I wouldn't mind getting my class A CDL... but I'm guessing MOST jobs that train you after train you OTR? I would love to drive a class A CDL, but I'm still hesitant about living life on the road away from family and friends