Any bus drivers turned truckers on here

csh88

I am currently a bus driver and have been thinking of getting into trucking and would like to hear from truckers who use to be bus drivers to get an idea of what I am getting into and any advice you would have for me.

Started otr, Drove school bus early 90's. Did that while going to college. Went back otr for a year then concrete,dump for 3 seasons.

Depends what you want out of it. At least you only have yourself and traffic to worry about otr.

I did it AaF...{A--e about Face}...I was a Trucker turned Coach Driver due to 2 Hip Replacements, after the Op' I wasn't able for the rigors involved in the Daily grind of Truckin'...I loved the Life and the "Solitude" it gave me...our Schedules would not be as hectic as yours and the miles/Kilometers we'd cover would be a Sunday Afternoon Drive compared to yours,but all in all my switch over was not that big a Culture Shock and the biggest change was the clean working conditions and Driving 5* Coaches and staying in 5*Hotels... clean Clothes...Mechanic at the other end of the Mobile/Cellphone in the event of a breakdown,paid a Daily Rate irrespective of what I did and the best of Food and Beds every night...No Boss calling me with impossible Targets to Achieve and my Schedule was my own and big Tips at the end of the Tour...I think you get the idea...:harumph: