Newbie, c15 help needed

Hello all,

I am new to large trucks , coming from medium duty 550/750 / cat c7 world

I am currently researching to build an expedition vehicle with design cues taken from the Europeans ala www.actionmobil.com

I have looked at the f750.. Don't like it... I want a COE for reduced length.. Every foot counts in the expedition world. I have looked at the 6x6 MTV military, it is underpowered for my desired weight (10-12k load plus chassis, perhaps 25-30k lbs total). My plan is to super single all 6 wheels and add TDM auto AWD to the front for a true 6x6. Add larger military tires and perhaps air suspension.

Which led me to a freightliner argosy. I need pre 2007 as I am planning a South America expedition ... High sulfur fuels...

I have located a 2004 argosy with a MBN serial numbered c15 with an Eaton 10spd tranny.

1. I want c15 to be bulletproof with a healthy balance of reliability and power.. In that order.. And I need help understanding what it will take to accomplish this as I have read many problems with this era c15

2. I want to convert the Eaton manual to an auto transmission... And I need tech help with that as well...

I have not purchased the chassis yet and wont until i get my atms around tye potential. If anyone can help me understand these questions and perhaps others I have not thought of... Greatly appreciated...

Thank you in advance

D

Super singles will leave you stranded for a LONG time when one of them blows out. You won't just need a unique tire brought in by mule or something, but you'll need a new rim too because they get destroyed when the weight drops on them.

A C15 is way more than enough power for your application but it will be nice to have if there are lots of steep grades.