Looking into the new Tech in the 2020 Freightliner

BrianB

Does anyone in here (Bay Area, CA - flexible to meet anywhere in NorCal) have a 2020 Cascadia that’s equipped with the newest safety systems and would be willing to show me around and maybe take me and my co-driver on a ride? (compensation provided of course)Safety systems I am interested in to understand more and if it’s actually worth it
  • Detroit Assurance 5.0
  • Active Lane Assist
  • Side Guard Assist (but lower priority)
****************************************************************************************************************
Please let me give you a little info on myself. I have only been an OO in name... My dads name was on the truck. everything else was my responsibility. That was 30 years ago, yeah I know right!? lol.
I have been a company driver for 25 or so years. I looking at these new Trucks and making sure I get the best "bang for the buck" That's what I'm here for. The only one responsible for my success is me. A friend recommended these forums. So here I am. Sarcasm is deeply embedded into the Divers life so bring it on I can handle it! ^_^
*****************************************************************************************************************

Last edited:
Dealers are dealers drivers are drivers. The truth (for the most part) comes from drivers.
Just my opinion. Thank you for your feedback though.

That Detroit 5.0 system is the worst thing to happen to trucks since Opti-Idle start/stop systems.

I drove one here at Walmart for one week and wanted to jump out of the truck as it sped down the highway. Unless it's turned off, I don't know if I'll be able to continue working here when it's 100% fleet wide. And here I thought I was going to retire at this place. What also irritates me is that in 2016 when I hired on here they were testing some sort of lane alert/assist system. It was so annoying they rejected it. Now all of a sudden it's, "Oh, sorry, it's standard now."