• Hi Guest,
    Do you have a question specific to a particular company? If so, click here for our list of over 50 popular trucking companies. Don't see the company listed? Post your question in our General Trucking Forum for all of our members to see, and we will consider adding a forum specifically for the company you mention.

How does FedEx treat it's drivers?

KINGDOM99

I'm a student, and I'm eight days from taking my CDL, Flatbedding would be my 1st choice but looking over Fedex's benefits package has got me thinking of them as a possible option. Plus, They have a terminal right in my area. Meaning, hopefully, home time. Anyone, work for them? And can you tell me how they treat their drivers. Thanks in advance for any info or advice.

They all want experience to start with.

Freight does treat their drivers like ****, they are asking for a union to come in. They handed out crappy raises this year and they pull doubles and triples. If you plan on working there, you will need to know how to hook and break a set as they road test with doubles. Estes Express does the same thing for city, road, and utility drivers. The way they see it is, if they need you to run a set real quick, you will be able to do it. Freight also runs newer equipment. I see new T660s all over the place and they run Cummins which is a great engine.

All stuff you should consider before going to a company.

Ground is mostly OO's. Some OO's might contract a driver on a 1099 to run for them but I would recommend you stay away from that as a noOb.