Considering a life changing career / lifestyle move, need advice!

Windir

Hello!

I have followed these forums for quite a while, but never actually posted. Trying to pull all the information together from others posts. But, now I feel like I need the advice from the people on this forum. You guys seem to be a very helpful community.

I am 32 years old and married.
I am from North Carolina.
I am a small business owner of a game shop, in a very small town of about 4,000 people.
I have owned this shop for about 3 years now.

Before I opened up my small business, I was a retail store manger for many years. I climbed my way up the corporate ladder until it became clear I hit a dead end. I was no longer happy with my path. Later that same year, I was able to seize the chance to open my own business. I had saved up enough.

I had a business partner. Coupled with a loan to cover my bases, I jumped into it with both feet. Within the first few months of opening, some very deep legal issues came to light with my business partner. He was cut out and let go. Needless to say, no amount of years knowing someone is enough to prepare you for life's surprises.

I have come to a hard realization with my business being located in this small town. No matter what tactics I have tried, it does not seem to be taking off to a point where my wife and I can live comfortably. We are able to pay all the home / business related bills. However, there is nothing to show for it afterwards in the bank.

I do not want to wake up in 10 years with that same situation hanging over our head. Having no savings and always barely making it by the skin of our teeth. Many months all the bills are due and we have less then $100.00 in our bank accounts.