Leg Problems

hurgoll

I also do work as a massage therapist, I see so many drivers with leg problems and circulation problems related to PAD.

Have you ever thought of getting a massage to relieve your leg pains?

I find that eating bananas prevents cramps, it is the potassium. Try it out and see if it helps.

Eating a well balanced diet would help....as would be taking more frequent breaks and walking for a few minutes.

The way the blood flow works is that unlike what most people think the heart doesn't push the blood completely around the body. Blood and limbic fluids in the leg return to the trunk of the body due to mostly muscle contractions and one way valves in the veins. Thus a driver who sits for long periods with a bent leg shuts off this system.

Accer is right on in the fact that you must take more breaks and get out and walk more often. You may not get cramps or any other signs, but you MUST take care of your body or you won't be trucking in a healthy body for long.

When my husband is driving he complains of leg aches all the time. I usually massage them for him but I bet it isn't as good as if a professional was doing it.

I have found that stretching does help a lot when being stuck in the same position for long periods of time.

Hubby found out how right I was when I was riding with him. He wouldn't let me go in anyplace alone because he was concerned for my safety.....he walked a LOT more than normal and his legs felt much better. Now he walks more often.

Sitting for hours at a desk don't help your legs either.

I find that my legs get a tight feeling and start to swell after to many hours of sitting in one position.

Iam not a heavy person at all and have been a runner for years. Just here recently had to stop doing so much running because of the pounding on my knees.

YOU are correct about massage being done on the legs...this does help with circulation and gets the blood flowing and helps the muscles to stay intact and not turn into fat.